The River Central area is positioned right in the heart of the Lehigh Valley. Included in this subregional area, spanning Lehigh and Northampton Counties, are the boroughs of Catasauqua, North Catasauqua and Northampton, and East Allen and Hanover Townships.

The River Central Multi-Municipal Planning Steering Committee has led an effort to draft, and to ultimately adopt, a comprehensive plan for the municipalities, shaping their collective vision for the future.

A multi-municipal comprehensive plan allows each municipality to keep their autonomy and control, but allows the communities, as a region, to take advantage of geographic similarities, address common priorities and better manage an evolving development landscape. The Draft Multi-Municipal Plan has determined common goals and objectives for areas of land use, housing, air quality, transportation, development, recreational facilities, natural and scenic resource conservation, farmland preservation and economic development. This joint planning effort also facilitates the sharing of resources in support of the long-term sustainability of the municipalities.

The plan will be used as a road map for the future, but it is also a living document that can be changed and updated as trends and conditions evolve.

Developing the River Central Multi-Municipal Comprehensive Plan involved more than two years of monthly steering committee meetings, a communitywide survey, public outreach and input, and a detailed housing, economic, demographics and land use analysis.

The Draft Plan below will remain open for public comment as the Steering Committee and municipal government bodies hold public meetings to view it.



(all meetings at 7 PM unless listed below; public welcome to attend)


Tuesday, February 13, 2024*
Tuesday, March 12, 2024*
Tuesday, April 9, 2024*
Tuesday, May 14, 2024*
Tuesday, June 11, 2024*
Tuesday, July 9, 2024*
Tuesday, August 13, 2024*
Tuesday, September 10, 2024*
Tuesday, October 8, 2024*
Tuesday, November 12, 2024*

*Virtual Meeting


Please direct all plan-related comments and questions to the appropriate municipal representative:

Catasauqua Borough

Brian Bartholomew, Council President

Howard Cunningham, Council Vice President

Ryan Carson, Planning Commission Member